Tag Archives: Storefront

Storefront: Resolving Duplicate Icons

ronburgundy
NOTE: This post concerns Storefront 2.6

Intro

I’ve spent quite a bit of time branding my new Storefront site for my users. One of the persistent issues I ran into was that all my desktop and application icons were duplicated. Here is how it was resolved.

The problem

I had configured my Storefront servers in an HA configuration by load balancing them via NetScaler and I suspected that this was somehow duplicated the icons. After some research I found that this was not the case. Citrix Studio did not show any duplicate applications, and I was not configured for Storefront Multi-Site settings (this can result in duplicate applications as well see this Citrix article for details on configuring this). Despite this I saw the following:

dupicons1
Desktop icons

dupicons2
Apps list

The solution

Turns out that when I configured my Storefront site, I needlessly entered 2 separate entries into the Manage Delivery Controllers section.

mandc1

You are able to enter in any number of delivery controllers in one entry and Storefront will load balance between the two (or more). Ideally, if you have a NetScaler (or similar device), you can load balance your Delivery Controllers there. I Removed the Controller2 entry above and edited the Controller1 entry as below.

mandc3

Now there are 2 servers listed for one entry and Storefront will load balance between them.

mandc2

Done with changes. Let’s log into Storefront and see what’s different:

dupicons3 dupicons4

Thanks,
Alain

Storefront Customization: Logoff behavior

cap_obvious
Captain Obvious strikes again!

Note: This post concerns Storefront 2.6

Intro

While testing 2 users logging into a desktop and having a different experience (regular user vs. admin), I was perplexed on the behavior of Storefront.

This isn’t your father’s Web Interface

I logged in as one user and launched a desktop. When I signed out of Storefront, in order to sign in as a different user, my virtual desktop immediately disconnected. I had run across the behavior before when using Web Interface, but was hard pressed to find an equivalent setting in the Storefront GUI to fix it.

After digging through Citrix edocs I found: To configure workspace control.

  1. Open web.config under C:\inetpub\wwwroot\Citrix\storenameWeb\
  2. Find the line containing:

    <workspaceControl enabled=”true” autoReconnectAtLogon=”true” logoffAction=”disconnect” showReconnectButton=”false” showDisconnectButton=”false” />

  3. Change the value of logoffAction to one of the following settings:
    1. disconnect (default) – Disconnects user from applications and desktops
    2. terminate – Shut down user’s applications and desktops
    3. none – leave sessions running and active after Storefront log off.
  4. The article details other settings, namely if you set showReconnectButton and showDisconnectButton to true, you will get those options in a drop down for your users (similar to Web Interface).

Thanks,
Alain Assaf